First People

munato

THIS IS the sculpture representing the culture of the indigenous people of Sarangani, located inside the Provincial Capitol of Sarangani Province.

I have seen this sculpture take shape few years ago. I was still studying then. We used to pass by this sculpture as we walk home from school.

I really admired the artist because the sculpture was done very quickly. Each day, we see great improvements and in no time, the figures of B’laan men and women on an oversized gong were clear. My classmate, who was the daughter of the mayor of Alabel told us that he knew who the artist was. His name is Kublai.

A while ago, I did a search to find if the artist has an online presence. Luckily, he was featured on Taboan.net. I followed the feature and I was brought to a site. Here is his site and other works.

2 thoughts on “First People

  1. […] used my old photo of the Munato Monument and modified its colors to suit the tshirt […]

  2. […] My first shot of the monument was made more than three years ago. 6.104338 125.290543 Share this:TwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in Statues and tagged photography. Bookmark the permalink. […]

Leave a Reply

